Many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past. Why is that so? Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

It is true that the written communication is becoming more intimate and casual than it used to be. There are several reasons for this, and I believe that its disadvantages outweigh its advantages.  The development of online messaging applications is the cause of this issue. These applications help people can communicate without meeting face-to-face. For instance, Zalo currently is a popular app in Vietnam, people use it to send texts to each other anytime and anywhere just connect to the internet instead of having to make an appointment. Furthermore, people when texting usually tend to not care about formality, they need to write quickly. As a result, using simple and casual language but in written form become popular and it heavily affects the written language. The benefit of this is to communicate effectively and quickly, especially during short conversations for information. For example, you forgot some of the teacher's instructions, you can text and ask your teacher directly and quickly without writing a long and formal letter. However, this problem bings more drawbacks. Firstly, people forget how to write a formal letter. In fact, present generation get used to texting, so many young adults do not know how to write a fomal email to apply for a job. they write these emails like they are texting with friends, such unprofessional writing makes employers underestimate these young people. Secondly, it is easy for readers to misunderstand. While emotions represent different meanings of the same sentence, written language needs a lot of words to describe that emotion. Therefore, when you write too short, it can confuse the reader. In conclusion, the rise of online messaging applications has resulted in less formal and more relaxed written communication than in the past.