Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make peope recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, recycling wastes from their initial sources, obviously, has been proven as the most effective and economic solution, so governments should focus to realize this strategy by means of their authority, budget and cultural capacities. Though exercising authority is necessary to make people recycle from their homes, the government should focus on encouraging policies rather than strict prohibitive policies to improve this purpose. First of all, without government regulations, and just with cultural promotions, it's not possible to reach a serious outcome for this purpose. In other words, utilizing the promotion techniques and fostering a recycling culture, despite being useful, do not work for significant changes. Therefore, the government should take some measures for households to incentivise them toward more and better garbage recycling. For instance, by suggesting some annual tax exemption for households, Tehran municipality has been significantly successful to reverse back the waste recycling in its generation chain, especially in the 2nd and 5th districts, in which, reportedly, none of the municipality's cultural promotions has illustrated justifiable results. In addition, given that government regulations are crucial for this purpose, using encouraging policies will work better by far, in comparison to preventive policies. In other words, in the case of recycling from origin such could be the effectiveness of stimulating policies that no punishment could be compared with it nor any fine-based regulation. In fact, behavioural economics research has proven that stimulating policies like offering some partial tax exemption to whom they refine their garbage from the origin could be ten times more effective. To conclude, while leveraging the autocratic power of the government seems necessary for better results in waste recycling, encouraging policies should be weighted more over preventive policies.