More and more plastic waste has polluted cities , countrysides and oceans. What problems does it cause ? And what measures can be taken?

Pollution has become a massive global threat. The increase in plastic waste has polluted several aspects of the world from cities and the countryside to oceans. It causes several problems such as unattractive landfill sights and endangering marine life. To resolve these issues, we can try to implement a variety of ways such as recycling more plastic and making items more eco-friendly. Similarly, we can try to preserve wildlife where ever possible. On the one hand, plastics can cause several devastating effects. For example, streets of cities and countryside can be seen crammed with litter which ultimately ends up in landfill sites. This over time can lead to abiotic and biotic degradation of the plastics, where plastic additives can leach and eventually percolate into various aspects of the environment, thereby causing soil and water contamination. Similarly, ocean life is affected the most due to microplastics and ghost gear. For instance, microplastics, due to their small size and being pumped with toxic chemicals, are eventually ingested by sea life causing them to become sick and eventually leading to death. Additionally, ghost gear is the name given to fishing equipment which is dumped into the oceans and also contributes vastly to pollution. On the other hand, a variety of measures can be taken and implemented. First and foremost, plastics must be recycled. For example in the UK we have specially allocated recycling bins to each household Likewise, these should be implemented globally and a fine must be imposed on those who fail to do so. Secondly, we must use recycled materials especially, for fishing gear, instead of resorting to just plastics. To cite an example, we must use eco-friendly resources to make items that require very minimal or no plastic and are biodegradable. Furthermore, organisations need to be formed to tackle the crisis we are already living in. To conclude, although there are undeniably many difficulties with plastics, we must understand that every cause has a solution. Thus, human efforts in production as well as cleaning can help to overcome such obstacles.