Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, feel that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that professional sport brings many contributions to the country, while some individuals think that they should be used for leisure purposes. In my opinion, I believe that there are more benefits to taking athletics as an activity that has nothing to do with money or careers. This essay will discuss these two points of view. Competitive exercise is attractive to citizens for several reasons in society. Firstly, a number of citizens tend to use their talents to earn incredibly high salaries; therefore, some of them are employed in the sports industry. Secondly, governments are involved in the hosting of sports events such as the Olympics. These events attract investment and create jobs. In addition, a few supporters feel that the level of any professional sport is higher than that of amateur ones. However, it leads to numerous athletes being only concerned about money and fame. A competitor, for instance, take drugs in order to win at any cost and get a high reward, becoming selfish and rude. On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for the population to exercise only for amateur purposes. Everyone should do sporting activities for enjoyment and health reasons. For example, when the population are doing workouts without competition, they can focus on their muscles, and keeping fit. In this case, these have positive effects on promoting people's health. Moreover, athletes do not provide a vital service to society, so the money they earn should be compatible with the wages most of us earn. In conclusion, competitive exercise indeed brings employment opportunities and a higher level of the profession; however, unreasonable incentives can have negative influences on athletes with a winning mentality. Therefore, I think that it is highly suitable to be just leisure activities.