Prison is the common way most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide the public a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of individuals questioning whether or not education is a more effective solution to crime. While some may strongly disagree, I firmly believe that education does play an irreplaceable role in society in terms of reducing crime. From my perspective, it not only increases people ’s awareness of morality, but also helps to break the circle of poverty and lessen the intention of crime in society. To begin, there is an argument to be made that education can teach people to better realise the consequences of crime. For example, according to recent research, the crime rate of people with higher education is evidently lower than those without. For this reason, it is evident that education is a more effective solution to ensure that there will be less crime in the future, as educated people are more aware of the impact of their actions on society. What is more, countless experts have confirmed that education can teach people to distinguish between right and wrong, and this helps them to gain a sense of morality as a result. This being the case, it is not unreasonable to assume that if the public did not have access to such education, those people would easily commit a crime unintentionally. In addition to this, it must be stated that a better education leads to a more prosperous job market. For instance, according to ample statistical data, the development of an economy can be positively related to the average level of education in a country. Therefore, it is clear that loads of opportunities and new industries are created thanks to the prevalence of education, and this leads to less poverty and less correspondent crime. Furthermore, a better quality of life due to less poverty can contribute to a more harmonious social atmosphere, and this would make society much safer overall. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if the average education level of a country was low, the whole society would be at risk of having a high crime rate. To conclude, the overwhelming evidence seems to suggest that education is an ideal method to prevent people from commiting crime.