There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because the computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development ?

Because of the reasonable price and easy access of digital technology such as computer nowadays, teleworking is increasingly favoured by both workers and students. From my point of view, although there are some detrimental effects of long-distance working, they are totally outweighed by its positive effects. It cannot be denied that the computer technology has some drawbacks that should be taken into consideration. Spending too much time in front of computer monitors may lead to a secondary lifestyle. In other words, people use most of the time in a day to work or study with their computers and therefore rarely have quality time for other outdoor activities such as playing sports or going to picnics. Furthermore, if people use computers to work and study for an extended period of time, they are likely to get eye diseases such as eye strain or short-sightedness. A review of 38 studies in Vietnam reported that 20 per cent of the subjects experienced short-sightedness. However, the benefits that are brought to human beings by computer technology can surpass its drawbacks. One of the advantages of using computers for work and study is that businesses and schools can reduce the office operating cost and other general costs such as electricity, air-conditioning and other utilities. Thus, they will save a significant amount of expenditure and have more money to invest in their products or facilities. As for employees and students who work and study at home, they will avoid the risk of meeting problems related to commute, train or bus delays, for example, or the bad weather. Besides, remote- working offers students or workers more time to spend with families or enjoying outdoor activities as they don’t have to drive or take a bus to their workplaces or schools. In conclusion, I still believe that the benefits of teleworking are totally more significant than its drawbacks even though it has both pros and cons.