There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because the computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development ?

Because of the reasonable price and easy access to computer technology, teleworking and telelearning are increasingly favoured by both employees and students. From my point of view, although the advance of technological devices has some detrimental effects, it also benefits humans in many ways. On the one hand, it cannot be denied that there are some drawbacks of computer technology that should be taken into consideration. Spending too much time in front of computer monitors can lead humans to a sedentary lifestyle. In other words, people use most of the time a day working or studying with their computers, and therefore, neglect outdoor activities including playing sports or going to picnics. Besides, eye diseases such as refractive errors are likely to occur in individuals who spend an extended amount of time with computers. A review of 30 studies of problematic internet use by people working and studying at home in Vietnam reported that 30 per cent of the subjects experienced short-sightedness. On the other hand, the huge advantages that computer technology brings to humans' lives cannot be underestimated. Teleworking and telelearning help businesses and schools reduce office operating costs and other general costs such as electricity, air-conditioning and other utilities. This will enable them to save an enormous amount of expenditure each year. Furthermore, the security of employees, as well as students, will be ensured as they do not have to face issues related to communicating like bus or train delays or bad weather. In conclusion, I argue that computer technology is beneficial to people's lives even though it has some negative effects.