Some students prefer to take a gap year between highschool and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Choosing the right career path is detrimental to following and achieving our life goals. While some pupils much rather take a gap year between high school and university to travel or work, others would prefer to continue their studies. Taking a gap year has its positives such as gaining independence, invaluable experience and making a concrete decision regarding which career choice is the best for us. This may outweigh the negatives such as losing academic momentum, the risk of wasting valuable time and the experience can be costly. This essay will showcase why the positives outweigh the negatives. On the one hand, taking time out can provide multiple long-term benefits. Firstly, it allows you to gain independence. For example, taking up a job or a paid internship in a possible future career, allows an individual to gain independence as well as being able to ease the financial burden of going to university or college. Secondly, the invaluable experience of travelling and working, allows people to gain knowledge and insight into other aspects of life as well as giving you time to pursue other passions. Without a doubt, this can aid in making career decisions that may impact the rest of your life. On the other hand, taking this break from education can subsequently lead to a loss of academic momentum. For instance, not studying for a whole 12 months and travelling to various parts of the world or taking up a job may cause you to lose your focus academically, resulting in a loss of career aspirations. Additionally, travelling costs money. As a result, you may end up spending your savings, landing you in debt and loans. Time is extremely valuable and cannot be brought back once it has been lost. To conclude, although gap years may de-motivate some people and financially may take a toll, I believe that it is a once-in-a-lifetime experience which may further motivate you. Thus helping you to choose the correct career path for you and outweighing the disadvantages.