Euthanasia, or mercy killing, has been in the news more and more recently. Many people are strongly against such a practice, but there is a growing demand to have it legalized. How far do you agree with euthanasia being legal?

The media have written many articles regarding mercy killing, and it has now become a hot topic of discussion. However, even though several people are against such a horrific method, few people believe that euthanasia should be made legal. Moreover, I have to completely disagree with the given Idea since I find it an area where many ethical issues exist. First and foremost, there is a strong chance of misuse of this method. Euthanasia should be carried out if a person is in a critical place due to severe disease and no other techniques can help them return to everyday life. For instance, a person severely burned is in a critical condition, and no pain relievers or other medications are found to be effective. Nevertheless, in the case of legalization, it has become a common practice among medical practitioners. Any patient can be subjected to such a procedure for alternative motives without valid reasons. Secondly, in most cases, consent to perform euthanasia is not provided by the patients; usually, it is done by family members or relatives; this brings up a serious issue regarding whether or not it is something that the patient prefers. For instance, in cases of dispute over inheritance from a seriously ill family member, relatives may acquire an illegal document that gives consent to carry out a mercy killing. In conclusion, only a tiny percentage of people support such ideas since there are a lot of ethical issues with the euthanasia of a person. Moreover, I strongly recommend first sorting out such problems before legalizing mercy killing.