Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advanatges of this outweigh the disadvanatages?

In recent times, there has been a huge demand for acquiring a second language due to globalisation. Under the circumstances, there is ongoing contention over whether it is essential for children to commence learning a foreign language after they have entered primary school. Although there are some concerns about time allocation to other subjects and children’s interests, I strongly believe that this movement will be more beneficial, as it expands their job opportunities as well as mastery of pronunciation. To begin, there are two main disadvantages pertaining to the introduction of a second language in a primary school, one of which is ensuring time for other subjects. In most educational establishments, there is a wide range of compulsory subjects that students need to take (e.g. math, their own language, geography, and PE). If a foreign language is integrated into a curriculum, the amount of time in some subjects needs to be reduced. Furthermore, with regard to children’s interests, some may not have any passion for learning a second language, meaning that educators must compel those students to learn it. On the contrary, learning a new language at the early stage of life tremendously brings benefits. Firstly, considering the global economy in the world, for instance, the capability of being able to speak English has an edge in job hunting. There is ample evidence stating that early learning of another language is far more effective and efficient than older age referring to brain development. Moreover, in relation to a key component, which is pronunciation, the older people become, the more difficult it will be. Thus, this may result in impairing communication with foreigners in the future. In conclusion, while educators may need to sacrifice the amount of time allocated to other subjects as well as a child-centred approach, it is still worth implementing second language classes because it will significantly contribute to students developing their careers successfully and also acquiring correct pronunciation.