Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taugh to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A significant number of people are of the opinion that creating a competitive environment among children should be encouraged, whereas others are of the belief that children who are brought up in a co-operative environment become more useful adults. This essay will discuss both views and my own viewpoint will be shared. Firstly, citizens who opine that competition in youngsters shoud be encouraged are not far from right because this brings about innovation and creativity. People, especially students, who are taught to engage in healthy competitions might become more successful in school, in that, they will always try to bring out the best in them in order to be outstanding students. However, if these contestions grow sour, negative things may erupt. For example, if children tend to compete with each other with the aim of becoming superior and regarding the others as inferior, these children may grow to become less friendly and more narcissistic and histrionic in the future. Nonetheless, teaching young adults how to co-operate with each other has its own benefits and drawbacks. That is, these people learn to be team-players, become more tolerable and mostly have a good relationship with others. Conversely, they might not become good in making healthy choices in life, therefore, might become dependent on others to make decisions. For instance, when there are no conflicts arising as a result of a competition-free environment, the children might not learn any problem-solving skills and this might, in the long run affect them as adults. In conclusion, I believe that both situations have its own advantages and disadvantages, hence, parents, teachers and society should do well to inculcate into them good morals so that both skills will be acquired.