Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big trffic jam". How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourgae people from using their cars?

It is an undeniable fact that, nowadays, most people own a car. As a result, traffic has increased in many cities around the world, causing relevant problems to everyday life. What should be done by local governments to invert this trend or, at least, to stop it? In the recent years, the nu,ber of car owners has dramatically grown and, in my view, everyone can notice that, as it does not depend on the place you live, whether it is a metropolitan city or a small town. Because of this growth, people can spend hours in their cars, stuck in traffic, while they are going to work or even driving their children to school. Moreover, air pollution in cities has now reached its highest level. It is evident that governments should take political decisions that prevent folks from using their cars. For instance, the means of transport system should be improved or modernised everywhere: the actual lines have to be extended and new ones should be built. In addition to this, I believe that reducing the cost both of tickets and subscriptions of these means lead to a huge decrease in car use. For example, I have once been to Luxembourg and I remember that public transport was completely free there and they still are. In conclusion, I would affirm that it is extremely clear what has happened over the last few years and I totally agree with the statement. For this reason, I feel it is vital that governments find solutions to solve this problem and I am confident they will.