Some people say that the best of improve road safety is to icrease the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Last year, the number of car and motorbike accidents globally grew 31% year-on-year to 1 million. About 25% of these accidents were deadly, causing families around the world to lose their loved ones. Road safety is, therefore, a crucial topic. However, I do not believe that raising the minimum legal age for driving is the most effective way to enhance road safety. A popular belief is that young drivers are more careless and less experienced. We have all heard anecdotes about millennials driving while texting or browsing social media. Therefore, one might argue that increasing the minimum driving age could help improve road safety. However, data does not support such an argument. Studies published by transportation authorities in the U.S. and U.K. suggested that, contrary to the popular belief, the majority of road accidents were caused by middle-aged drivers with a median driving experience of 11 years. This is because these drivers tend to be over-confident in their driving experience and hence overlook safety risks. By contrast, younger drivers who just claim their licenses are usually much more cautious and nervous while driving. Furthermore, both the U.S. and U.K. have made safety training a required part of claiming driver's licenses since 2015. As a result, younger drivers are more likely than senior drivers to have gone through such training. Based on the data, raising the minimum driving life will not result in better road safety since most accidents are in fact caused by more experienced operators. Given the studies mentioned above, alternative approaches will be more effective in boosting road safety. For example, the authorities can require drivers of various ages to pass annual mandatory safety training. Drivers who fail in such training will have their licenses revoked. To conclude, I disagree that raising the minimum driving age will improve road safety. Alternative measures such as mandatory safety training for drivers across all age groups could be more powerful.