These days Internet –based courses have become a popular alternative to University – based courses. Some students prefer this type of learning because they do not need to attend lectures. Others argue that it is important to study at university. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

In the dawn of the technology era, education has been impacted just like many other aspects of human life. While there are a plethora of online courses offered by world-renowned professional institutes that are embraced by the students instead of physically attended university study programs, there are some who believe that the old-school university class is still valid and important. This essay will toss up both these arguments and finally incline towards the more modern delivery of online courses as the way forward. Firstly, convenience and cost-effectiveness are the most solid reasons that are contributing towards the popularity of online education. Nowadays, students can remain at home and participate in the coursework based on their availability. This approach is often considered to be productive as well as effective as human life has become complex and hectic based on the schedule. Furthermore, it is estimated approximately 63% of universities across the US have invested thousands of dollars in building online platforms to deliver course materials rather than investing in their physical infrastructure because of the cost-effectiveness of conducting courses online. It has drastically brought down nearly one- third of their operational cost. In contrast, some of the proponents of the old-fashioned physical classes would argue that less physical activity and social interaction while being at home has had a severe impact on individuals pursuing higher education in past few years alone as studying from home was mandated due to the pandemic situation. They argue that, the students entering university should have the opportunity to explore those aspects while they progress on their study path. In conclusion, the above is arguably a healthy discussion in the modern world we live in today to have that will contribute in identifying the best approach to deliver education for future generations. But, in a world where convenience and cost-effectiveness is highly regarded, it is more likely that the university class would drastically disappear.