Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum. Do you agree or disagree?

Many young individuals are indifferent to monetary education, although this skill and knowledge are essential and should be incorporated into educational programmes in school. Even though it might be quite challenging for children to understand finance, I firmly agree with this stance as instilling such skills enables people to become significantly independent and provides numerous advantages later in their lives. Firstly, having monetary lessons at an early stage offers them a variety of social skills, such as critical-thinking skills and problem-solving skills. These capabilities can positively affect their thoughts to consider their financial situations as well as their behaviour in their future. For example, according to a 2022 opinion poll conducted by the Japanese government, 85% of residents in their twenties, living apart from their families, have reported possessing sufficient savings. This is because 95% of Japanese high schools have monetary lessons as a part of their complementary curricula. Moreover, educational institutions can play a more effective role in educating individuals than parents. One plausible reason is that schools provide you with a wide range of knowledge, including the monetary system and world economics, in addition to the value of money. These practical skills are considerably advantageous in their future professions. In China, 90% of prestigious universities require students to take finance at least twice in their college lives, leading a majority of them to become CEO of famous trade companies. In conclusion, there are very few adolescents with financial education, even though gaining knowledge and skills associated with finance is pivotal for our lives. I completely concur with this viewpoint because of the potential possibility of becoming financially reliable and because of the possible expansion of the future career.