Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Art is the expression of human creativity and imagination, usually in the form of painting, music, dance and literature. Many people believe that art is an integral part of humanity, while some believe that it is just merely a form of entertainment, an escape from the reality of life. This essay will discuss both opinions and why art is a part of and give meaning to life. When we talk about art, there is this certain feeling of joy and appreciation that comes with it. We immediately think about our favorite song, favorite painting, Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, and even the trending TikTok dance we’ve been trying to learn for the past several days. This is the reason why many believe that art exists mainly for entertainment purposes. Any form of art gives momentary pleasure to people that when they are lonesome, they seek happiness by going to a concert, or go to a disco bar nearby, or perhaps book a ticket to a local museum. On the contrary, there are these people who found themselves in the opposing view, who feel that art has a deep connection to human life. We would often hear people, especially musicians, that their music give meaning to their lives, some would even say that for several times they have been saved by their music. Those who have creative minds, and the skills find their purpose in life in their works. They share their perspective of many things in life through their work, in fact we even learned a great deal of our history and ancient civilization through artworks that have existed for thousands of years, that some archeologists found in the caves throughout the world. Art existed for as long as humans existed. It is through art that many things, like traditions and cultures, have been retained and passed down through generations. We express our emotions through art, we ease our soul with it also. Without a way to tell a story, human race would find it difficult to move forward, as the foundation would not have been founded and built. To conclude, while it is true that art is a reliable source of temporary enjoyment, there is so much more to it than just that, entertainment. It is synonymous to life. It gives life meaning and purpose. Art is to life, as life is to art. It is the very foundation which the human race is building upon.