In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Nowadays, industrialized nations tend to raise the rate at which the population is older on average. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. Several related problems can be forecasted about the increasing ageing populations. Firstly, the greater the number of retired people, the more people have the state’s pension. For example, when old people stop working and have less contribution, the government have to ensure many other subsidy policies like salary for retirement or demand for healthcare sections. As a result, that makes the burden of government and society rise. Secondly, the rate of the old accounting for the numerous population is the number of the young labours getting less than. For instance, in a society’s labour structure that percentage of the old occupy 70% of it, which means the 30% left is a rate of the young. This leads to a serious shortage of labour for a country’s economy. Therefore, it causes pressure on young individuals who need to work more to be balanced against the old. In order to address the aforementioned issues, several actions can be taken as follows. The first measure would be to increase the retirement age because it will helps to keep a number of the old labour force to continue dedicating to the community. Through this way, the pressure on the state will reduce more and maintain the balance of the labour force. Another efficacious way is to encourage immigration and the rise of the birth rate. Having attraction and good treatment policies for students accepting stay working after graduate universities or colleges, as also support finance for young families that are likely to bear more children. This way is what several rich nations have been applying so far. It will helps to rise human resources significantly. In conclusion, the increasing average life expectancy leads to two problems, which are the government’s burden and the pressure on young individuals, and this issue can be dealt with by a joint effort of both the rising retirement age and encouraging immigration and the rise of the birth rate.