Some people say that the prevention of health problems is more important than the treatment of illness and disease and that Government funding should reflect this?What is your opinion?

People argue that it is vital to emphasize more on preventing health issues rather than treating ailments and furthermore, government funding should be in accordance with this. I completely agree that it is crucial to focus on avoiding an illness altogether rather than curing it after getting infected. Firstly, the majority of the human illnesses that we see today are lifestyle sicknesses. In addition to this, people today are not cautious about their diets and often lead a sedentary lifestyle which consequently results in numerous types of diseases. To illustrate this point, studies have portrayed that nearly 40 per cent of the adults in Kerala are affected by some form of lifestyle disease like diabetes, cholesterol or obesity etc. and this is primely due to the lack of exercise and adverse eating habits. However, the authority can play a crucial role to reduce similar diseases by investing in public facilities like well-equipped gyms, swimming pools and sports. Secondly, health issues can also be averted by consuming harvests that are free from harsh chemicals and in order to achieve that, the state should shift their focus to organic farming. For example, the Sikkim ministry has shifted to a completely organic mode of farming and there is a 20% decline in cancer cases in the country. Hence, it is evident that shifting towards chemical-free organic food can help prevent certain types of maladies. To conclude, I completely agree that despite spending a hefty amount of money on treating illness, it is recommended to focus on preventing diseases through behaviour changes and also consuming organic foods.