Advertising discourages us from being individuals by making us all look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, marketing campaigns have been a critical player in influencing the public's purchasing behaviour, and some argue that advertising persuades consumers to buy identical commercial goods unconsciously by following a trend of popularity. As I observe, so many people take popular bloggers’ advice to buy recommended items and then totally forget these brand-new goods at home. I agree entirely with the concept expressed in the rubric. This essay will demonstrate my argument with examples to support my opinion. First and foremost, creative advertisers constantly persuade customers to purchase things that do not reflect what customers truly need. Advertisers make us believe that certain goods can make us healthier, richer, and more attractive, bringing tremendous benefits to our life with a simple purchase decision. This is rarely the case. Countless followers of Kim Kardashian choose to buy items from her list of recommendations, yet very few of them reach a comparable level of wealth, beauty, and popularity by using the exact same product. Secondly, advertising draws the public attention to look at a few items launched by giant enterprises, negatively impacting smaller companies as there is no level playing field. On the one side, big companies with a higher advertising budget have a greater chance of grabbing the public’s attention and targeting their products to specific groups of customers. On the other hand, small companies are put at a disadvantage as they are much less known to the public, and people may choose to buy more expensive yet less useful products that are heavily advertised. In a nutshell, advertising encourages consumers to follow a trend of popularity while ignoring their individual needs. It leads to fewer differences between people and eventually makes us look the same.