The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, there has been a rising debate over whether the number of days off during the week should be extended or not. I am strongly convinced that shorter working hours can be highly beneficial because of some reasons stated in this essay. First of all, once the policy is implemented, it may bring many advantages to employees’ well-being. This is because they will have more days to rest and pursue their hobbies. As a result, their negative emotions might be released as well and their energy is recharged, which can lead to an improvement in concentration and work performance. To illustrate, in some countries, a reduction in the required time at the office has shown positive effects on improving staff’s health and productivity. Secondly, a shorter working week can also be advantageous for employers and their businesses. Even though the number of hours workers spend on the job decreases, the quality of their output seems to be higher because when they are well-rested and motivated, they can attain a more positive outcome in a shorter time. In addition, as the workers have more days off to spend with their family and relationships, they are likely to feel satisfied with their jobs. This can lead to a lower turnover rate which may help to save a lot of money and effort on recruiting and training new staff. In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that shortening the working hours can bring several benefits to both employees and the business. However, it is crucial to consider all the pros and cons before implementing this policy as it may not be suitable for all types of corporations.