The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The health problems that are involved with obese people are putting a heavy strain on the health care system. Many people believe that the most efficient way to counteract this issue is to incorporate more exercise in schools. I am in absolute agreement with this statement. Firstly, it is clear that this will help children lose weight more easily. Students would get the opportunity to do sports and exercise more. For example, an average child does sports once or twice a week, which would not help them lose weight very quickly. However, by adding more sports to their school curriculum, they would be able to exercise and lose calories much faster. Another major reason is that doing sports in school at a young age can help pupils maintain that habit in the future. If a student has a liking for sports in school, it is most likely that they will keep that habit for a long amount of time. For instance, if a child does sports a lot, then he or she would probably keep doing sports in the future. This will result in keeping fit when still a child to becoming an adult. Although putting more exercise in schools can help children keep fit and healthy, there are still numerous different ways to lose weight. Curtailing the amount of fast food or candy consumption is an option. Sometimes, when children exercise a lot, they still end up eating too much junk food. In that situation, reducing the number of unhealthy foods they eat is quite effective. In conclusion, including more exercise in schools is by far the best and most effective way to prevent obesity. In my opinion, this statement is completely true.