Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many countries hold a plethora of activities including games in order to showcase their strength, culture and a lot more to different nations across the globe. Some folks believe that such international sports tournaments are beneficial for the growth and development of the hosting nation. However, others think that organising such activities has proved to be extravagant. This essay will discuss both aspects in detail. On the brighter side, arranging sports events will give a potential avalanche of benefits to the country to gain investments and grow economically by displaying its infrastructure, culture, resources and much more to other countries. For instance, a few years back India hosted the Commonwealth Games and during that time period, India grabbed a big order from Brazil to supply sports dresses and equipment for their football team. This results in generating healthy job opportunities for the citizens and also boosts the overall economy of the country. On the darker side, these events demand ample amounts of expenditure from the government of the hosting nation in order to meet the expectations of the participating nations. Organising nations have to spend a hefty amount on building new stadiums, running tracks, recarpeting the roads and providing security by deploying more surveillance equipment for visitors. All this results in overlooking the budget allocated for other sectors. To illustrate, in the Olympic games in Manchester in 2002, the council commissioned a new stadium just for the athletic event on the place which was allocated for a new school building, which was later not reused by anyone. In conclusion, I assert that these tournaments should be organised by the countries because of an avalanche of benefits. However, it's the onus of the authorities of the organising country or city to spend wisely without compromising the budget allocated for other domains.