The advantages brought by the spread of English as a “global language” will outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Nowadays, there are an increasing number of non-native English speakers learning and speaking English in the world. I believe the popularity of this language is a positive trend, although it may pose a threat to some less spoken language. For developing countries that do not speak English, learning English is a good way for them to overcome language barriers, thereby gaining advanced knowledge and working experience. There is no doubt that the most advanced information and knowledge is in some developed countries, most of which speak English. If someone is interested in English, he could study abroad or work in these developed countries to acquire advanced knowledge and technology. One day, when he go back to his country, he could impart these information to his students or colleagues. As for developed countries which speak English, it is very convenient for them to promote cooperation throughout the world, especially with developing countries. In an international setting which encourages people to speak English, doing business with local companies and the government is relatively easy. The reason for this is because encouraging students to learn English in developing countries represents that most of these countries recognize the culture and capability of these English -speaking countries. Hence, this is a good opportunity for them to collaborate with each other and make money together. On the other hand, as the spread of English becomes more popular, it may lead to the extinction of some minority languages. In other words, it could be regarded as the cultural invasion of a country. This is because English could help them find better employment or earn more salaries, and they use English to read English newspapers keeping up with the news and English fashion magazines following fashion. As there are more and more people recognizing this idea in the local, people would eventually dismiss their native language as a useless tool. In conclusion, publicizing the spread of English has more benefits than its drawbacks, although it may present a challenge to some less spoken languages.