Shopping is the favorite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Young people’s approach toward hobbies is changing dramatically, and it is often influenced by technology and the modern world. At present, shopping as a favourite pastime activity is becoming extremely popular, especially among youngsters. Admittedly, shopping outlets' services, lucrative offers, rapid changes in technology, and digital advertisements are playing key roles in making this trend popular. However, unnecessary shopping is a waste of time and money, which, I believe, could be better utilized by youths. The modern world we live in has many new technologies, gadgets, and fashion stuff, and they change so frequently that it is almost impossible to remain fashionable, trendy, and updated without shopping regularly. Many people, especially youngsters, go shopping regularly because they feel those items are necessary for them. Since brands release new items quite often, the young generation goes shopping frequently. Digital advertisements by big and small brands also reach millions of teenagers and constantly lure them to get fashionable items to look and feel good, and sometimes their offers and discounts are quite good to be missed! For instance, renowned brands like Nike or some small brands often give up to 50% discount which drags many youngsters to their outlets. Youths can use their leisure time in more productive activities and hobbies like going out and doing exercise, socializing with others, getting involved in charity work, and taking part in different outdoor sports. These activities will keep them mentally and physically fit and make a far more healthy young generation without chronic diseases and obesity. Besides, they can invest time in reading, which will broaden their imagination and enhance their knowledge. For example, it is evident that students who like to read a lot do much better in exams and end up having a better career than those who hardly read books outside of their academic syllabus. To conclude, I believe that shopping is important when it is restricted to buying necessary items. But if it becomes an obsession for young people, it is a problem. They should better spend the money and time doing things that would benefit them in the long run.