At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Population growth has always been a great concern for human civilization. With the number of young people growing prominently in some countries, the knock-on effects deserve our attention. As far as I'm concerned, a country dominated by the youth is definitely more dynamic and conducive to the whole economy. To begin with, if a nation has more young people than older citizens, it can bring about some negative outcomes. For example, at times of economic slowdown, young adults are more likely to be faced with not only limited job vacancies, but also fiercer competition mostly from their peers. Additionally, the shrinking old population might divert public resources from the health care system and related health sectors, which in the long run, may dampen the enthusiasm for innovations and breakthroughs in health technology. However, on the other hand, the society as a whole can benefit tremendously from such a demographic feature. There is no denying that young people are more energetic and hardworking. Therefore, by absorbing more youth into the workforce, our economy can relish greater potential and gain stronger momentum. Besides, consumption is expected to be further driven by them as their spending behaviours tend to be more diversified and frequent compared with older people, which in turn, would activate businesses such as clothing, food and snacks, travel and so on. Furthermore, unlike older generations, the young are always in line with the latest trends and new things, hence remaining the most creative and innovative age group. In conclusion,an economy dominated by the young is instilled with not only vigour and passion, but also innovation and creativity. Despite some drawbacks such as more intense competition, the benefits can be profoundly valuable.