At the present time, the population of some countries include a relatively large number of young adults,compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Population growth has always been a great concern for humans. With the young population growing prominently in some countries, and the number of old people shrinking, the knock-on effects can be quite significant. In my view, provided that the youth are definitely more dynamic and creative, the merits of a society like this outweigh the demerits. To begin with, if young people outnumber older citizens to a large extent, it can bring about some negative outcomes. For example, at times of economic slowdown where job vacancies are limited, more young applicants are competing for fewer positions, making the competition much fiercer. As a consequence, the unemployment rate might go up, causing more social problems. Additionally, if the old population is greatly undermined, social welfare systems might witness unbalanced development, as fewer people are concerned about health care, medical benefits, nursing homes and so on, which in the long run, may dampen the enthusiasm for innovations and breakthroughs in health technology. However, on the other hand, society as a whole can benefit tremendously from this demographic feature. There is no denying that young people are more energetic and industrious. Therefore, by absorbing more youngsters into the workforce, our economy can relish greater potential and gain stronger momentum. Besides, consumption is expected to be further driven by them as their spending behaviours tend to be more diversified and frequent compared with older people, which in turn, would activate businesses such as clothing, food and snacks, travel and so on. Furthermore, unlike older generations, the young are always in line with the latest trends and new things, making them the major age group to innovate and reform. In conclusion, with a larger proportion of the young, the economy is instilled with not only vigour and passion, but also innovation and creativity, not to mention their incredible fuel to consumption. Hence, despite some drawbacks, the benefits can be profoundly valuable.