Nowadays many people choose to be self employed than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the cause? What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

It is true that nowadays some people select to work for themselves instead of working for a firm or organization. Personally, I consider that the development of the internet should take responsibility for this case. Also, the disadvantage of being self-employed should not be ignored. There are many factors that lead to people being more likely to be self-employed. The fundamental factor is the development of the internet, which generates some online positions. For instance, individuals can open an online store on an online shopping website or become an influencer on social media such as Facebook and Twitter. These jobs provide them with good salaries for a living. As a consequence, they need not work in a company and obey the arrangement of working time. Besides, online jobs usually contain flexible schedule and people thus can arrange their work content according to their wishes. If there is a mother who is required to take care of kids, the online job would be more suitable. While there are some advantages, we should realize the underlying disadvantages and admit that being self-employed also promotes the risk of losing jobs and social security. Firstly, when people choose to work for themselves, it partly means that they give up protection from labour unions. As a result, if they suffer from unfair treatment in commercial activities, they cannot protect their goods and reasonable profits like a big company. Secondly, they are more likely to fail in competition with famous firms and organizations due to they cannot reduce prices by enhancing the scale of production lines. In conclusion, some novel positions are generated by advanced technologies on the internet, which encourages people to be self-employed. However, people must confront some challenges if they choose this route.