In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Across the globe, many retailers are shutting down their businesses due to low patronage from traffic since they prefer buying from bigger stores. This is considered a negative trend because the economy would be badly affected and clients would not have access to personalized duty. To start with, a decrease in consumers' patronage of small-scale businesses has a negative effect on the national GDP. In other words, it takes only a thriving business to pay taxes and other necessary bills expected of them either at the national, state or local level. This is because low patronage tends to discourage business proprietors and also leads to low capital accumulation. For instance, Ibadan North L.G.A has reported a 60 per cent decrease in revenue generated through small and medium enterprises in the last 5 years. Consequently, an economy would be stagnated in growth as there would be no revenue to provide basic infrastructural facilities. Additionally, buyers missed out on the great customer maintenance they ought to enjoy from retailers when compared to some shopping malls in the environment. This is because big shopping centres place little or no value on their clients and are less concerned if they patronise them again unlike minor shop occupants who give their best assistance to bring people back in order to enjoy mouth-to-mouth referrals through satisfied ones. For example, most shop landowner in Ibadan seldomly invests their resources in marketing when compared with bigger shops. Apparently, the qualitative client approach SMEs give to their customer is strong enough to leverage more traffic generation to their outlet. In summary, I opined that the act of patronising big stores against small shops by people is disadvantageous to the economy and individuals because it would lead to a low generation of revenue, and customers would not be able to access exceptional customer benefit shop holder offer.