In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

It is true that more and more residents tend to be interested in digging out the underlying value of the building they live in, such as its extensive history and culture. In my opinion, the increased awareness of protecting national characteristics should take primary responsibility for this situation. There are many reasons that cause this case, while the fundamental reason is that people realize the importance of traditional culture and architecture and thus become interested in the history of the house they live in. Generally, the architecture of the building reflects native customs and culture as well as represents the ancient's wisdom. For example, both the Forbidden City in China, Big Ben in the UK and the Statue of Liberty denote the unique feature of local ideas. In other words, local architects built these buildings according to local needs, which is a symbol of civilization and arts. Therefore, people are able to have a better understanding of their culture and further protect them by finding out the building's past. To better realize the history behind these buildings, households can leverage many strategies. Firstly, people can investigate related information about their house on the internet which always provides abundant details. Secondly, people are supposed to scroll through records in local libraries or documental departments. In China, the government always set up an organization to store local buildings' information about the time, owners, space and so on. The same pattern may exist in many countries and areas. Besides, the elderly are able to tell some events that happened in this building, helping a better understanding of its history. In conclusion, attempting to find out the underlying background of the house people live in exhibits that residents have realized the significance of protecting local traditions. To this end, people can adopt many manners such as searching for information on the internet and library.