Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Several criminals are likely to recommit crimes after serving their initial term, this is mainly because they can not ensure economic stability and they lack education. However, there are solutions to deal with this senario, first is to financially support them and second is to help them improve necessary skills. This essay will look at the reasons why crimes are recommitted and how to better the situation. On the one hand, the very first reason why crimes keep happening again is that offenders need money after being released, ironically because of their background, they are hardly recruited and make a stable living. Moreover, since society does not accept the convicts as respectable people anymore, they join hands with their criminal friends and perpetuate the same crimes, such as pickpocketing or robbing, to make ends meet and avail basic necessities. As a result, the financial hardships of the perpetrators lead them to recommit the crimes regardless of the consequence. There are still some viable measures to help first -time convicts re- intergrate with the society. The government can provide financial assistance to them after they complete their sentence as this will help them stabilize their economic status and make a living for themselves. The government can also ensure that criminals have the opportunity to retrain vital skills while in prison, as this will help them find stable work after their sentence is over and will improve their reintegration into society. For instance, employers are more likely to recruit wokers with better skill and will over look their background if they perform good enough. To sum up, the convicts recommit the crimes owing to a lack of financial help, job opportunities, and rehabilitation. Still, crime rates would drop considerably if the government implemented the above-mentioned measures and kept a close eye on offenders once set free.