Success is often measured in terms of how much money somebody has earned. Do you think wealth is a good measure of success? How else could we measure whether somebody is successful or not?

From the perspective of a few, success is essentially measured by the amount of finance or wealth one has accumulated. Primarily, if we look around, we consume many data through social media, making our younger generations think this way. In my opinion, although being financially well-off is one measure of success, other factors such as academic qualification and extraordinary sporting achievements also need to be considered in measuring accomplishments. This essay will elaborate on how success should be measured and identified. Admittedly, having massive houses, luxury cars, millions of dollars in bank balance and other fortunes are status symbols of success in life. Few individuals venture into entrepreneurship to build wealth and continue to grow their earnings so that they can be counted as successful businesspeople in terms of their wealth. Elon Musk, for instance, the wealthiest man in the world, is seen to be highly successful based on his massive net worth. However, in my perspective, if a person is not giving back to the community, he should not get the consideration of being a successful person. Similarly, people aim to become highly educated and qualified to get well-paid jobs and work hard for promotions to earn huge salaries while lacking real sportsmanship behaviour. Therefore, other forms of measuring one’s achievements must be given equal importance in society. The primary examples of such success are academic qualifications in noble professions such as doctors or teachers and achieving incredible feats in sports. Even though doctors, particularly general practitioners, would generally earn less money compared to business people or executives, as per a recent study conducted by Harvard University, it cannot be regarded that they are any less successful in society. If everyone only thinks about making a huge pile of money, there would be a significant shortage of such professions resulting in a plethora of untreated citizens, which could lead to major health and social issues. Furthermore, despite some athletes reaching remarkable success in the sporting world, not all are super rich. For example, the captain of the champion Fiji 7’s Rugby team, named the best player in the world, lives in a squatter settlement. In conclusion, there is tremendous concern about how people are judged in modern societies only through their financial position. Every successful person giving back to the community, such as doctors and educationists, must be respected by everyone regardless of their earning capacity. Moreover, I strongly suggest that society would benefit from a more holistic perspective on measuring success rather than focusing only on wealth.