Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the improvement in financial conditions, more families are now able to afford to equip their children with a smartphone. Consequently, there is an increasing trend that they spend countless hours on electronic devices. There are several explanations which I will delve into through this essay, and also present my viewpoint that this development has positive and negative impacts. To begin with, there are two main explanations for the issue that young adults spend many hours on their phones daily, being an assistant for both learning and entertainment purposes. For example, as the popularity of online learning increases rapidly these days, schoolers are not only required to submit their homework but to do research or communicate through emails online as well, resulting in that they are spending a large amount of time with this device. Furthermore, it provides users with access to newspapers, social media applications, and online free videos, with the latter two being quite addictive and children usually have difficulty resisting them. Thus, they are found focusing on the phone screen for a prolonged period. When it comes to the impact of this development, I believe that it is both beneficial and detrimental at the same time. The good sides of using a smartphone for a long time in a day are that youngsters can respond quickly to their emails, messages or homework assigned by their teachers, so completing schoolwork on time, and additionally, they may develop computer skills such as typing skills. However, the downsides of this situation are linked to the fact that they may have some health problems such as short-sightedness, neck pain or abnormalities of their postures. Besides, these young adults may not have quality time with their families and friends, for other outdoor activities and hobbies. Hence, the positives and negatives of this development should be acknowledged. To conclude, the trend that children spend countless hours on their smartphones every day is owing to the online learning process and the temptation of social media and free videos that they can easily access. Youngsters may profit from it, yet, the harmful aspects to their health are also significant.