Some people think that increasing communication usage of computers and mobile phones by young people has had a negative effect on their reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the pivotal role of the advancement of technology, the question of whether taking advantage of intelligent devices has a positive effect on humans or not has garnered widespread interest. One common perspective, myself included, approves the opinion that trend increasing usage of computers and mobile phones by the young has negative impacts on their writing and reading skills. Proponents of this thinking that the advancement of modern tools contributes to the improvement of reading and writing skills cite the fact that using those devices brings convenience in communicating online by texting messages through applications and the availability of looking up a variety range of information resources which facilitate expanding their knowledge and vocabulary. Nonetheless, this thinking fails to factor in the fact that convenient functions in those tools programmed in order to autonomously correct grammar mistakes can deter the young from improving of writing skills. The presence of this phenomenon can be seen in Viet Nam, youngsters over-depend on those amenities and do not pay much attention to spelling and grammatical errors, which have an undesirable influence on their reading and writing skills in the long term. What is more, the continuous usage of computers and mobile phones can lead to a decrease in focusing time in individuals due to the distractions from autonomous notifications. Perhaps more importantly, the young spend the majority of their time surfing social media, watching Netflix or other entertainment activities on their mobile phones. That being the case, they do not have sufficient time for reading activities such as reading news and books, which leads to a lack of practice and poor reading competence. This is why over-usage of modern communication devices can lead to detrimental effects on writing and reading ability. In conclusion, with the aforementioned reasons, the use of smartphones and computers comes with various advantages, but I consider that over-independence on those tools brings undesirable effects on reading and writing skills overall.