Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. Is this a positive or negative development?

In modern times, technological advancement has provided the ability to acquire licensed music and books from the internet for free. In my opinion, this is an absolute drawback in the development of society as a whole, both materially and socially. The first negative aspect is that piracy contributes to the decline in the quality and quantity of creative works. When products such as songs and novels are downloaded free of charge, no revenue is earned by the authors, thus giving them no incentive and discouraging them from creating other products. To a larger extent, it will negatively influence producers and workers in the industry as they will lose their incomes, as a consequence of the diminishing of creation from artists and writers. In addition, this also affects the people who are willing to pay for music and books, in the sense that they will have fewer and lower quality materials available for the purposes of entertainment and knowledge. Another legitimate justification for my disbelief is that this advancement distributes inappropriate content to unsuitable viewers. This is because the ease of accessing any age-rated materials helps the underaged to gain any type of content they desire. For example, by bypassing the requirement to pay, children gain products solely meant for adults such as pornography and violent movies. As a consequence, this advanced technology causes detrimental effects on juveniles such as antisocial behaviours or anxiety. In conclusion, the easy accessibility of copyrighted works without charges poses negative effects on society as it adversely affects people on both the production and audience sides, as well as causes harmful consequences to minors. In my opinion, creative works should be protected for the development of humans.