Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that highly skilled workers, such as physicians and engineers, should be obliged to work in the nation where their training was done. Others, however, support their freedom to choose the country of their desire to practice their trade. To prevent the loss of well-trained labourers, which might in turn do harm, an obligation should be introduced. Firstly, to prevent the massive brain drain of highly skilled workers to the other countries, a strict law must be enforced to keep them in the workforce. Without professionals manning key positions, the quality of life of citizens would decrease sharply, leading to dire consequences. In particular, there would not be enough good doctors to treat patients nor engineers to design and fix items, resulting in sick people suffering more or broken infrastructure that impedes the flow of traffic. Secondly, it takes many years as well as much effort, money, and time for a country to train professionals such as doctors or engineers. After graduation, if those professionals choose to work in another country, they would not be able to contribute to or compensate their own nation, resulting in a possibly stagnant economy. Therefore, to safeguard their human resources, many countries have already passed laws to keep their own highly skilled workers. On the other hand, the freedom to choose professions and workplaces is the right of each and every citizen. In other words, professionals can freely choose suitable nations to practice their trade, and this right should not be limited in any way. Also, in a global economy, whichever countries have attractive policies to attract highly skilled workers, such as hefty paychecks or benefit packages, will be at an advantage. This creates healthy competition that can benefit workers and also nations around the world in the long term. In conclusion, to prevent the loss of well-trained labourers, an obligation should be introduced in which professionals must work in the country where their training was done.