In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a tendency that companies tend to develop driverless vehicles in the future. While the software in cars always brings uncertain factors in driving, I still hold the idea that the advantages this case brings outweigh its disadvantages. In this essay, I attempt to verify this opinion with more facts. From some aspects, we have to recognize that some uncertain factors even dangers in traffic have arisen from driverless cars. Companies always leverage artificial intelligence (AI) to fulfil the function of being driverless. However, as some literature has shown, people cannot totally capture what AI do and how AI make decisions in driving. For example, some Tesla cars were out of control when AI was working, demonstrating its insufficient ability in coping with complex traffic situations. Although some disadvantages current driverless cars have, there are also many advantages that cannot be ignored and should be emphasised in the future. Firstly, drivers' pressure and fatigue can be reduced if the AI system provides reliable advice and route suggestions. People always feel exhausted after a long-distance trip, while machines would not feel tied and constantly work. Secondly, driverless cars are able to mitigate traffic jams. For instance, every vehicle has access to contact and cooperate with each other through the internet, which makes traffic more intelligent and reduces the possibility of traffic congestion. In conclusion, it is justified that both governments and companies aim to develop industries for auto-driving. To the most extent, it brings advantages more than disadvantages, but we need to overcome the uncertainty in auto-driving.