Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As internalisation rapidly grows, there is a tendency that s well-educated workforce chooses to leave the nation where they obtained education for other countries. This raises a debate where some people think that those well-trained doctors or engineers should stay in the country after their training, while others argue that they should be free to work where they desire. I will delve into both viewpoints and present my opinion which is leaning toward the second argument. To begin with, it is an undeniable fact that having professionals moving overseas to practice their professions is a loss to the nation in terms of human resources, the life quality of citizens and the development of the country. For instance, when they opt to practice elsewhere other than their homeland, it will cause a massive workforce loss of highly educated ones. Without a sufficient number of doctors and engineers, there would be a decline in the quality of citizen’s life, meaning that there is no treatment and patients may suffer more from their illnesses, and additionally, there will not be new building designs or renovation of old, broken infrastructure in the city. Moreover, while going abroad, the workers will not contribute or compensate to their homeland which has spent a large amount of time and money training them, and this may eventually lead to a stagnant economy. Thus, some people argue against the leave well-trained labourers after their training. On the other hand, some believe that they should have freedom when it comes to their place of work. This is owing to the human rights and the benefits they may obtain then working overseas. Truly, every person has the right to choose where they desire to work as long as it is suitable for them, and requirements are met, and it should not be limited in any way. Furthermore, working in another atmosphere or another culture is profitable because it gives workers the chance to have new positive mindsets, enhance their skills, earn new knowledge, and more importantly, step outside their comfort zone to develop even more. With advanced skills and knowledge, they may have access to other opportunities such as a promotion in jobs or a higher payment, increasing their satisfaction in work and life. Also, in a global economy, there will be healthy job competition, as the person receives the position according to their abilities. Hence, there should not be an obligation regarding the workplace. Indeed, in my opinion, workers should not be limited while choosing where to practice their professions since it only does harm rather than good for them. In order for highly educated workers to stay after training, instead of an obligation, the government should introduce a more attractive policy, such as an exchange programme after two years of employment or a higher income. To conclude, while some are of the opinion that professionals like doctors or engineers should stay in the nation where they obtained their education, others argue that it is their freedom to opt for where they work. Despite many advantages and disadvantages, I believe that being free to choose their workplace is more significant because of its benefits to the person and to the economy.