Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by the governments and individuals to solve this problems?

It is certainly true that the continually increased usage of plastic -made bags, bottles and packaging has posed a global threat to environmental sustainability. The non-biodegradable nature of these ubiquitous single-use plastic products can be fatal for animals and increase global warming. In this essay, I would argue that this problem can be overcome by the collective efforts of governments and individuals by limiting plastic product usage, promoting biodegradable alternatives, and using reusable products. One of the main adverse effects of single-use plastic on the environment is the damage it causes to the ecosystem because of its non-biodegradable characteristic. Numerous studies and research have shown that when animals ingest plastic, they suffer serious health problems that can ultimately result in death. Moreover, the incineration of plastic waste produces high carbon emissions globally, which may increase global warming. The more we use plastic, the more it will degrade our environment. Further, it is high time for governments and individuals to understand the gravity of plastic's negative impacts which our planet is experiencing, and should work together to alleviate this problem. In my opinion, states should outlaw single-use plastic products and encourage and invest in industries which manufacture biodegradable disposable products. For instance, in India, many disposable manufacturing small-scale and cottage industries use bagasse to make sturdy plates, glasses, shopping bags, food packaging, etc. Hence, by investing in and promoting these industries, governments will not only save the environment from the hazards of plastic, but they will also help to generate new employment sources. Furthermore, we as individuals can support our governments by limiting our plastic usage to a minimum. For example, we can carry reusable cloth bags for shopping instead of asking for plastic bags at checkout counters in stores. The less we use plastic products, the less they will be produced. In conclusion, I would argue that the damage plastic causes to the environment because of its non-biodegradable nature can be attenuated by limiting plastic product usage and encouraging biodegradable alternatives to plastic.