Rich people are getting richer, and poor people are getting poorer. The gap between rich and poor people is widening. What problems can the situation cause? What can be done to reduce this gap?

Nowadays, some people are convinced that the gap between the rich and poor is getting wider due to their wealth and status. This essay will debate both the causes and measures of this phenomenon. To start with, the first reason why the gap is wider can be the unfair allocation of social resources and opportunities. Social resources are distributed unbalanced due to regional differences. The increasing investment and labour sources are flooding into metropolitan cities, such as New York, Shanghai, Tokyo and Moscow, which bring more job vacancies and wealth. As a result, people are more likely to live in big cities rather than small towns let alone the countryside, and the poor living in these areas have no choice but to live a harder life. On the other hand, lethargy or lack of information about marketing is another significant cause of the broadening gap between rich and poor. In most cases, a rich family could send their children abroad to accept better or higher education. Therefore, the next generation of the rich is more likely to become elites, which have more access to make profits. Besides, rich parents can give their children great help with a powerful social network and financial support, so it is much easier for rich people to launch a new career or make more profits with enough disposable wealth and plenty of chances. By contrast, these sources are unavailable for poor families. Government plays a crucial role in tackling this issue. Firstly, the government should pay more attention to the inequality of social resource distribution, once this unbalanced allocation is detected, the government need to redistribute these sources. In order to achieve a better effect, relevant policies and decrees should be made. Except for this, governors must complete the system of public wealth and insurance to ensure the basic living standards of poor people. Subsidy of education and employment can also be an efficient way to improve the situation. In a nutshell, the causes of the broadening gap between rich and poor are multifaceted and complex, and government must take responsibility to bridge the gap.