In some countries an increasing number of people are sufferimg from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree pr disagree with this opinion?

It is incontrovertible that most people appreciate eating fast food, but they do not take it as a habit. However, some folks seem to abuse it and, consequently, they begin to suffer from health problems. For this reason, some masses believe that higher taxes should be imposed on this kind of food. In my view, a higher tax is an efficient measure to adopt to prevent people from eating too much fast food. In fact, I believe that a greater cost would reduce the number of fast food consumers. Nevertheless, I doubt that this political decision would be enough by itself. It is evident that the main advantage of fast food is its cheapness. As a result, I am not sure that a higher tax would lead to a relevant decrease in consumers. For example, I strongly believe that some friends of mine would not mind paying a couple of euros more for a hot dog or a kebab, and neither would I. That is because fast food would still be cheaper than a regular meal. So, in my opinion, there is something more that should be done by governments. For instance, in order to discourage fast food consumption, I think that a lower tax should be imposed on healthy food, which is way too much expensive nowadays. In addition to this, governments should promote campaigns among the citizens to inform them about the diseases that can be caused by this type of food. In conclusion, I cannot affirm that I totally agree with this opinion. It surely is a good start, but it is a measure that should come with other ones: only a combination of decisions would lead to a fall in fast food consumption.