In some countries an increasing number of people are sufferimg from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree pr disagree with this opinion?

In many nations, there are a number of people who are facing issues related to their health because they eat junk food daily. Thus, governments should levy a high tariff on food fast items. This essay agrees with this statement because a higher cost can result in lower consumption of fast food and extra taxes collected can be used to treat sick people. Firstly, a higher tax on fast food eatables will make these items costly, and it would not be feasible for many people to afford this kind of food. This will result in many people deter to eat junk food on a daily basis and lower consumption of this kind of food. For example, a recent study by Cambridge University found that if prices of fast food items increased by 10% of their current value, nearly 30% of people will stop eating junk food regularly. Secondly, many people are suffering from health-related issues such as obesity, immune system and so on due to eating fast food, this will put a financial strain on the healthcare system. Money collected by imposing higher taxes can be used to treat sick people. This will lessen the financial burden on the annual budget spent on the healthcare system. To illustrate, in Britain, the authorities have imposed 12% more tax on junk food, and higher prices of this kind of food resulted in lower consumption of fast food. In conclusion, higher taxes on fast- food items is required to reduce its consumption because it will make this kind of food costly and funds collected from taxes can be used to treat sick people.