Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons of this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Recently, irresponsible financial decisions are made by individuals. Moreover, it is a result of reckless spending. In this essay, it will be discussed how the educational system and consumerism play a significant role in this situation and how this problem could be solved. Firstly, business classes are not usually taught among young students, leaving them unprepared for the financial responsibilities they will encounter in adulthood. For example, it is commonly known that money management and investing are not common skills for them until they become adults. As a result, irresponsible expenses are made due to a lack of proper financial education. This issue could easily be addressed through systematic reform, putting a heavier emphasis on teaching financial management skills in schools. If young people were educated about money from an early age, they could avoid many of the pitfalls that lead to financial instability later in life. Secondly, in a materialistic society, goods and services are easily and rapidly replaceable. Modern consumer culture encourages frequent spending, and the data suggests that buying new products is preferred rather than attempting to repair preexisting objects in approximately 80% of American consumers. Consequently, funds are wasted on unnecessary items instead of being used for something more productive, such as investments, savings, or long-term financial planning.  In conclusion, changes have to happen rapidly in order to prevent the entire economic system from collapsing in the near future. Growing capital and savings is unpopular, which is an issue that I believe must be addressed immediately. Therefore, I believe that governments should encourage citizens to make smarter financial decisions by increasing interest rates or lowering taxes