These days people are using the Internet for shopping, work and to communicate with others without the need for face to face meetings. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

During the last decade, Internet usage has not been just confined to social media, as it has moved to a new whole level of daily life management. Undoubtedly, there are some disadvantages to this transformation, however, the advantages are more valuable and they mostly counteract the effect of the demerits, as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs. Contrary to what many people may think, the Internet has impacted our social life positively. It has helped us to become more social and to link and communicate very well with our relatives and friends. Social media platforms have strengthened social ties among family members and distant relatives. For example: before it was difficult to keep up with your relatives’ updates, especially if they live far away. Nowadays you can touch base with them and know all their news on daily basis through Facebook, and share great moments and wishes with them easily. Moreover, family or friends gatherings and work meetings have become easier to organize and hold either through creating Facebook events or even through sharing the events’ venue locations on e-maps. On the other hand, it may be also claimed that using the Internet for online shopping has also influenced the level of people’s activity. Nonetheless, now individuals can save more energy as well as time to work out or to play sports instead of going physically to shops and bringing groceries regularly. Technology has made our life easier and more convenient in this regard. Furthermore, when speaking of activity, recently learning new techniques and exercises through Instagram, Facebook or various websites has become very trendy and effective. In conclusion, technology has made our daily life tasks easier to manage and handle. Both in terms of social aspects by providing faster communication, and in terms of physical activity by enabling us of performing proper and efficient chores’ organization and time management.