"Prison is the only truly effective form of punishment, because it separates criminals form society." To what extent do you support this view? You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Imprisoning criminals for what they have committed, has been one of the prevalent ways of sanctions all over the world since early history. In my view, I agree to some extent with this manner as an effective approach for the prevention of crimes and reforming behaviour, as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs. First of all, freedom is unquestionably the most precious and valuable thing for any human being. Hence, it is not the idea of isolating criminals only, but also the fact of how harsh is it to deprive someone of their freedom. This what does make it an effective action of punishment. The feeling of time passing by without doing the things you used to do or having free will over deciding on your own life is no doubt a very painful state. Subsequently, I believe it is an efficient way for limiting crime rates. Moreover, relying on penalties solely to curb crimes is not realistic. That is why prisons nowadays are accompanied by various programs for behavioural discipline as well as other opportunities. For example, prisoners are allowed to study or to enrol on courses while they are in jail. Also, some sentences include a sort of public service that some people can do. Such activities have a great impact on altering individuals’ mindsets and preparing them to engage again with the community besides being able to find a job later. In conclusion, I believe that modern prisons are the latest and the most acceptable way of dealing with felons that the majority of humanity has agreed with, due to being a kind of punishment in addition to being a channel for rectifying conduct and thinking.