Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to whether or not libraries are a waste of capital investment, rendering them to be replaced in the future by computers. While it is commonly suggested that computers are way more cost-efficient to operate when compared to a library, others do not believe so. In my opinion, libraries provide readers with better information for high-level academic research; meanwhile, the internet's benefit is the quantity of knowledge and different viewpoints users are exposed to. On the one hand, it is argued that libraries will become obsolete in the future due to computers. This is because the computer allows for higher work efficiency, especially when it comes to finding information in a short amount of time. With the improved infrastructure of global internet connection along with the widespread access to it, as electronic devices lower their price, the internet serves as a platform where anyone can contribute their own knowledge about a subject. With this vast amount of information and search engines like Google, it takes less than a minute to find the specific piece of info you need, compared to finding a book and reading the entirety of it. A good illustration of this can be seen when research by Harvard University has indicated that the speed at which people can have access to information has increased by 3 times compared to 5 decades ago. On the other hand, others do not share this line of thought. It is because they consider information obtained from the internet less reliable than that through published books. It is previously mentioned that the vast amount of knowledge the internet holds is one of its advantages compared to traditional printing products. However, it's this vastness that makes it difficult to regulate and check for the info's reliability, as practically anyone can contribute their knowledge pretty easily. In fact, as an example, it is estimated by Yale University that over 30% of all info on the internet is fake/misconceptions. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that computers should take over the roles of libraries; meanwhile, others assume that libraries provide trustworthy information which the internet / computers can't consistently do. Personally, I tend to believe that libraries can supply visitors with better information, more fitting to be used as concrete evidence in university-level research and dissertations; meanwhile, the internet's benefit is the quantity of knowledge and different viewpoints readers can be exposed to.