Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for the locals?

Nowadays, there may be an increase in tourism to remote tourist attractions such as the Sahara desert and the Antarctic. Some advantages are an influx of income to those areas, increased exposure and help revive struggling communities. While some disadvantages can be littering, with increased pollution and damage to natural habitats and the ecosystem. In this essay we will analyse these further. On the one hand, there are many pros to visiting areas such as the Sahara Desert and Antarctica. For example, these areas gain more exposure by being advertised in a positive light, especially on social media platforms. As a result, more people are convinced to visit bringing in more income. This brings us to our next reason. Touring these places with difficult conditions brings more opportunities for the locals as the requirement for jobs increases. For instance, more infrastructure like airports, roads and hotels need to be built in order to cater for international needs. Hence, providing the local population with jobs. On the other hand, where there are positives, negatives are bound to exist. Firstly, although building infrastructure provides jobs, a lot of nature is destroyed in building new infrastructure. To cite an example, areas of woodland which may be home to many flora and fauna need to be destroyed and removed in order to make space for hotels and roads alike. Therefore destroying wildlife and nature. Secondly, littering increases with the arrival of a larger population, increasing landfill sites and consequently causing pollution. To conclude, several factors have a negative impact towards the community as tourism expands. However, if these factors are controlled and managed in an eco-friendly way, tourism will flourish reaping benefits for the community.