Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate on whether kids should be taught how to cooperate or try to be as competitive as possible. There are benefits on both sides and I will present my views regarding this topic. On one hand the competitiveness should be encouraged because then the children will truly try to win and give their best. As a result, their performances will keep getting better and better and they will excel in their sport. Also, competitiveness increases motivation and if they give all they can, they value their achievements much more, because they remember all the hard work they had to put in. On the other hand, competitiveness ignores other traits like generosity, because the kids will get used to doing everything on their own and will try to just get a better result by all means. Another thing is cooperation, it could let kids complement each other and achieve an overall goal. Generally, life always requires the ability to cooperate, because almost every task is easier to complete when doing it with somebody. Also, cooperation is essential for the proper functioning of society so kids must learn how to team-work. On the contrary, cooperation might reduce the passion for winning and increase the acceptance of losing occasionally. Also, when a child is used to cooperating he might find it hard to complete tasks on his own and this will lead to being dependent on others. To sum it all up, both sides have advantages and disadvantages, but competitiveness proves to be more beneficial because it might lead to better consequences than cooperation.