The growth of online shopping will one day lead all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there has been an upsurge in the popularity of E-commerce which would soon lead to the extinction of physical outlets in society. However, I disagree with this assertion because an online business cannot render a satisfactory personalized service nor generate revenue for the economy. To begin with, it is no more a fallacy that online shopping has come to stay, especially with its sporadic popularity among the populace. However, it is still limited in rendering effective personalized service to traffic. In other words, shop owners go the extra mile in ensuring they win people themselves by displaying a pleasant attitude. This is because it takes only a satisfied customer to patronise a particular store continuously and also refer friends and families which is regarded as the backbone of any thriving business. For example, the majority of SMEs in Oyo State are expanding their business because of the quality customer service displayed by their staff to walk-in clients. As a result of this, customers have a relaxed ambience while shopping and that also influence their decision to patronise again. Additionally, online trade generates little or no revenue for the country. This is because it is quite difficult for the government to get accurate data on ventures being carried out on the internet. Moreso, the majority of online traders seldomly pay their taxes except for those who are well incorporated with physical structures. For instance, the crypto-traders engage in their lucrative online activity without any taxation role to the authority. This has resulted in slow-paced growth and development of the economy. In conclusion, e-commerce cannot provide imperative customer services to the populace and it tends to minimise income generation to society at large