The advent of the Internet has made it possible for people to work from home. Do you feel this working arrangement has more advantages or dis- advantages? Share personal examples in your essay.

In the recent world, especially after the COVID-19 pamdemic, the number of people who work remotely from their home has increased rapidly. This phenomenon was largely supported by the development of the Internet. As a consequence, people obtained chances to work flexibly without the stress of commuting everyday. However there are a few significant drawbacks of remote working as well. I will raise some examples of both benefits and disadvantages and finally want to state my opinion that the practice has more advantages overall. The most significant advantage of work from home is its flexibility. For example, working mothers have more quality time with their children within their residences. They also have time to take care of their aged parents while working. Further more, theoretically, we can work from anywhere around the world, where we can log on to the internet, as such, workers now have great many options for places and time to engage in their jobs. Moreover, as citizens do not need to commute everyday, there would be less crowded trains and traffic jams. As a consequence, it is better for the environment. On the contrary, there are some risks brought by the arrangement. The first one is diminished communications and human bonds between colleagues. For instance, at the beginning of the pandemic, we tried to do some online parties among staffs at the office but we quicly realized that it was not efficient. As a result, we tend to meet each other on the web only when business requirements come up. This lack of communication make some colleagues feel lonely and in serious cases they become mentally unstable. However, overall, these disadvantages can be overcome if we wisely balance the time in office and time at home. In conclusion, although there are a few serious drawbacks exist for work from home scheme, I believe the benefits are far outnumber than the drawbacks. It is a great new plan which can expand the possibility of working style for us and for the generations to come.