Some people think it is important for all children to learn history in school. Others believe that other subjects are more relevant to children’s life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about what subjects should students study at school. In my opinion, both history and other subjects are important for children to lead a better life. On the one hand, I can understand why it is argued that other courses are more vital to children's future. Some courses, including physics, chemistry and maths, are more practical and important for children to acquire qualifications, which can be essential to them to achieve success in a career path. For example, a range of job opportunities, such as doctors and engineers, require applicants to have a major in science or engineering. Besides, history is a subject that studies the past and it has nothing to do with the modern world. Students can learn nothing about technological innovation, which may be more relevant to their lives, from history. On the other hand, however, I believe that history undoubtedly is of great importance for all of us and every student should study history. Firstly, history can be seen as a connection with people from the past. Cultures, traditions and customs of the ancient world can be learnt in a history class and history is also important for students to cultivate and develop the skills of analytical thinking. For instance, history teachers always present historical facts and encourage children to analyse the causes and effects of these historical events, during which time the habit of doing analysis can be formed. Furthermore, it can also help to encourage children to understand the development of their nations as well as humans. In conclusion, although history is not as practical as physics, chemistry and some courses, I believe that we should encourage all students to learn a wide range of subjects as they are all associated with daily life and none are dispensable.